Tired King Sun and the Queen of the Night

My son has been asking why it’s dark earlier now. He’s just turned four and questions about how everything works spill out of him everyday. I love these conversations (except for when I’m trying to parallel park) and try to balance educating him with not overloading him with information beyond his grasp. I strive to honour his thirst for the scientific, as well as to feed his imaginative capabilities; small children seem part of another, more magical, world and I don’t want to yank him out of it too abruptly.

IMG_3275

To answer him, I talk about how King Sun gets tired earlier now after shining so brightly and hotly through the summer. So he’s going to bed earlier and earlier and enjoys a deeper sleep. In the morning, he lies in gradually later and later. This is how he rests and builds up his strength for the hard work of next year. Whilst King Sun sleeps, the Queen of the Night comes and spreads her dark cloak over the sky. She has stars sewn on the inside, and the edges are all different colours: those that we often see whilst she is arriving and King Sun is setting. This is her favourite part of the year, so she rocks up earlier each evening, and she stays longer. She quietly takes care of everything whilst the land – and most people – sleep, and she carries with her a basket of dreams that she gives out each night.

 

As my son grows older, such a story will undoubtedly become woven – and elements replaced – with more science and factual detail. Yet on those evenings when I step outside now, I feel the comfort of that dark cloak: even though it brings chilliness, I find a sense of comfort in feeling a mother or grandmother figure watching over the sleeping world I identify with that mother, that being the current phase of my life (one where I do quite a bit of taking care of others, comforting, being awake at night… and orchestrating bedtime). I feel too the excitement of anticipating the gifts of her dream basket. In these feelings, I am finding and knowing both the mother and child aspects of myself. To me, this Queen of the Night is the peer of part(s) of me and the parent/grandparent of others. As such she brings friendship, comfort, abundant love and wisdom. I hope that these lengthening nights will find me open to her.

IMG_2569

Maiden, Mother and Crone painting by Wendy Andrews: http://www.paintingdreams.co.uk/

6 thoughts on “Tired King Sun and the Queen of the Night

  1. Pingback: Tired King Sun and the Queen of the Night | Ola Queen Bee of Astrology

Leave a Reply

