A harvest nature table

We put this nature table / altar together for Lammas, although I never quite got around to writing a post about it – mainly due to the nature of one of the “harvests” featured. As many do with this festival, I like to focus on the year’s projects that have come to fruition; what we are reaping. Doing so, I’m taking my cue from nature, this being the harvest time. And in the growing calendar, harvest is a time, rather than a particular set day, which is why I tend to celebrate Lammas especially in this spread out, extended way.

IMG_3223

Sometimes our harvests are outright tick-of-the-goals-list successes (if that doesn’t sound to blunt!), sometimes they’re surprises, sometimes more “lessons we’ve learned”. For all, I feel it’s important to state and share our gratitude; to thank each other, the Earth, the cosmos, our resources and whatever else has enabled these harvests – as well as to acknowledge the efforts we and others have put in.

As we now turn into September, with all the demands that come with continued harvesting, preparation for winter and/or return to school or work, I know it’s important for me not to let that gratitude and those lessons get lost in this busy-ness, but to weave themselves into the rhythm of this month and of this season, and to learn how to dance to that new beat…

IMG_3230

The tiny corn cobs in the very top pic were from last year – we learned to let go of our hope to grow sweetcorn and a few other crops here: our little urban garden just doesn’t have the space. The premature conkers on the left here represent plans I made that still haven’t been fulfilled. This year I’ve “harvested” learning more about the reasons why I procrastinate, mismanage my time, avoid things etc. The knitting is there because this is a skill I think I’ve improved this year, the bark is a souvenir from one of the lovely woodland walks we’ve enjoyed – and been making more time for – as well as representing the development of my husband’s interest and activities in woodland work. The honey is from our camping holiday on Exmoor.

cropped

The painting behind the Holly King represents seasonal food and the berry harvest we enjoyed from our garden (that my son was extremely efficient at harvesting into his mouth!). The heart was made by my son at his kindergarten (which he started at in January). 

IMG_3224

Not a great pic but the basket contains some rubble from the old concrete path that took up a lot of our garden. We broke it up to increase our growing space and to add a lawn and a more natural bark-chip bath; one of the bark chips is in the basket too.

IMG_3241

The lavender is from our garden and the “seaside in a box” was inspired by an craft activity idea posted on theimaginationtree.com. It symbolises the three lovely weeks that my son and I recently spent staying with my mum in Cornwall – and frequently visiting the sea! The scan picture is a really special blessing from this year; our second child who we very much look forward joining us Earthside in February. Hence the lack of blogposts for a few weeks due to me having a lot of early nights! (Thankfully I’m feeling much better lately). The houmous packaging represents my accepting that it’s ok if I don’t always meet my expectations of myself: I ideally like to make houmous from scratch each week, using dried, soaked chickpeas I’ve then cooked in the pressure cooker. However, sometimes there’s a call for some supermarket houmous – when I’ve got a baby in my tummy to grow, a three-year old to build trainsets with, housework (or knitting!) to do, sunshine to enjoy, friends to see or whatever. Perfection’s just not worth it sometimes! 

IMG_3239

6 thoughts on “A harvest nature table

  1. Congratulations to you and your darling family. Thank you for sharing your news. I got tears in my eyes while reading. And, Mo, I have always loved the month of February.

    • Aw thanks so much Kate, we’re very excited! February will be a time of even more new life for me to celebrate! I’ve just been enjoying catching up on the beautiful words and photos of your blog after having been away. (Belated) birthday blessings to you.x

Leave a Reply

