Breaking free

IMG_2909

In my garden, spring flowers are breaking free from the tight hugs of their buds. More leaves and flowers wait to do so any day – pushing against their protective squeezes like a baby trying to be birthed, or like a teenager pushing away from their parents emotionally. There’s a fair bit of breaking free for myself too. I feel my body crave lighter and more pungent and bitter foods as it seeks to clear the kapha energy dominant at this time of year. I’ve cleared out more possessions and stuff as my appreciation for less clutter has grown. Almost all of it has gone to charity shops or recycling facilities, mirroring nature’s cycles of letting go, destruction and rebirth.

IMG_2914

IMG_2911

I know people say that those who are often rearranging and decluttering their physical environment have a lot of internal “mess” they really need to address. I’ve seen this in myself. Although I’ve not come as far as I hoped with the self-development that I started in the Autumn, I do have a sense of starting to break free of a few layers of unhealthy thought habits and internal scripts. Certainly a sense of opening and awakening to a beautiful view.

IMG_2905

Our garden itself is breaking free (with some help from the three of us!) from the wide concrete path that we have long wished was grass and vegetable-growing space. Soon it will be!

IMG_2921

2 thoughts on “Breaking free

  1. I think people who are too organized and tidy have the most internal mess. I speak from personal experience! Your garden looks very welcoming. And I love being able to see your darling family. Good work on letting the dirt breathe again.

    • Thank you! The garden currently looks like a building site (although to Dylan and his toy diggers that is definitely very welcoming!) Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend ❤

Leave a Reply

