Awake

ImageBeing outside right now often brings to my mind the Ted Hughes poem Wind that  I studied – and loved – at school. Unromanticised nature. Nature that humbles me and sharply reminds me of my gratitude for the comfort of home. And hot chocolate.

These buds are on our blueberry bushes but it’s all the daffodil buds I’m waiting for. I almost want to sit and watch for the moment sometime very soon when those buds will just…… POP!! For now they’re holding themselves together tightly, as a lot of us people do when out in these winds. I’m sure that I’ve massaged a lot of shoulders whose stiffness is in part attributed to being hunched up around the ears throughout the colder months!

These buds, awaiting their showtime like actors ready for their cue to get on stage, speak to me of emerging; of waking up and stretching out. Of that point where we leave our dreams but haven’t quite opened our eyes (I’m picturing here the slow, tentative process that is my husband’s way of waking up!). I also feel this sense of awakening in my journey into this year. Some changes in our life in early January meant that we had to make a few alterations to aspects our home rhythm and how we spend our time. We’ve had a few minor teething problems, some trials and errors, all hampered by each of us getting a bug, Ugh.

In the last few days, as each of us has our health almost restored, as realisations have been made and discussed, as plans have been revised and tweaked, I’ve felt more in tune with this new song of ours. I can’t quite say I’ve got the steps to this year’s dance nailed, but i’m humming and tapping along with open eyes, ready to emerge.

2 thoughts on “Awake

  1. Hmm yes I feel like I’m figuring out the steps to this year’s dance too! Glad to hear things are coming together. I absolutely loved that poem, too! I’ve been reading more poetry recently, actually. I’m very fussy about it and only like some poets, so I let it slide for a long time, but I feel a need for it again now.

    • Am likewise very picky about poetry! I think it’s a hard thing to write good poetry – and I just find that there’s a lot of prententious poetry about (including the poetry I wrote in my teens/early twenties!!) I do like Ted Hughes though, and would love to hear of any recommendations you have. ♥

Leave a Reply

