Keeping the new year energy going all through the year

IMG_1828In my last post I wrote about the role of our “inner child” in making plans. I’m pretty good at making plans and starting projects. Astrology says this is due to my Aries sun sign, Ayurveda puts it down to my vata dominant dosha. Perhaps this is why I feel such a happy buzz at new moon: I feel a close affinity with this energy so am in my comfort zone. Per haps I’m still a little more child than adult!

What I’m not so good at is carrying plans and projects through and completing them, particularly when obstacles occur. My husband is similar so it’s entirely possible that, give it a couple of decades, we’ll live in a home full of half-finished projects with our hearts feeling a lack of fulfillment and personal satisfaction. But hopefully not, particularly as we are both very aware of this tendency.

This year we have made less plans than previous years. I guess that helps in making them SMART goals (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely). Several of our goals are for our garden. In the last few years, when our garden plans have not worked out, we’ve not only experienced a sense of failure, frustration and dissatisfaction, but also guilt at plants having died (and money being lost) and a knock to our confidence of trying again.

This week, a newsletter from the craft marketplace Etsy (where I have an online shop) listed ideas for keeping your creative inspiration going all year round. Some of these I can apply to the garden goals and other goals we’ve made. For example: writing down ideas as they come, seeking fresh perspectives from others, and taking breaks -ie. spending time NOT doing what you’re trying to do! I thought of some others too that will hopefully help sustain my motivation:

  • IMG_1874regular reflection and review. I use nature’s cues to check in on the progress of my goals. I feel that the half moon points call us to do this; to look at what’s working and what needs a change of directiion (or letting go of completely). I also reflect on goals as part of each sabbat’s celebreations – particularly the equinoxes.
  • making resources accessible. I feel that January is a great time for this. In nature in  our hemisphere, the earth is resting, preparing for the time when seeds will be sown. My gardening books recommend this as a time for ordering seeds, cleaning up garden tools and planning out your garden. I think this can be applied to other things; if you’d like to be more creative, do you have a good range of creative materials placed in an ordered, accessible place in your home so you can get going easily without always having to hunt around? Do you need to buy some books or find some blogs to follow for inspiration? If you’d like to eat more healthily this year, perhaps now coulld be spent accumualting healthy recipes (and trying them out to see if you like them), of keeping a food diary to record what food makes you feel healthy (do citrus fruits make your skin flare up and make your tummy feel over-acidic, or do they make you feel cleansed and good? We’re all different!) I guess this then links to
  • easing yourself in gently. Where I live, late January/early February is when the snowdrops and crocuses come out and the other signs of spring arrive. I’ll let my plans really kick off then!
  • going slow: I’m so prone to the too much too soon thing! Then both my energy and enthusiasm burn out.
  • keeping it simple. Last year we learnt a lot about where and how we need simplicity in our life and home rhythm. Towards the end of the year, some of my posts focussed on simple(r) celebrations and I’ll be posting more on that kind of thing from now on. This is our year of living more simply!
  • reaching out. As I talked about in my last post, knowing guides and mentors – and where I can go for support or advice.
  • connecting with nature’s helpful energies: the sun on sunny days, (particularly in late spring and in summer), the moon when she is waxing and full. I like to go outside at these times, stand in the sun/moonlight, give thanks for the beautiful glow, run through my current goals in my head and ask for the sun/moon’s blessing.
  • celebration and gratitude At full moon, I try to celebrate wherever I am in my goals. I’ve only chosen the fabric for the peg bag I planned to make my mum? Well yay that I’ve had the mental energy to do that! It’s a step. In the year, I take the summer solstice, lammas and the autumn equinox as cues for doing this too. We found it really helpful incorporating more gratitude into our lives the last two years; this year, we are striving to give thanks daily for our blessings, inspirations, discoveries, achievements and anything positive and lovely that has come our way that day.
  • Recognising ego, and dropping pride I find it easy to compare myself to others and try to achieve what I percieve them to be achieving. For a start, my perception may be wrong. Also, their circumstances, skills, resources and luck may be different to mine. And they may be more practised at these things than me, so it comes more naturally and automatically to them. This year, I ask for the grace to let go or change direction when something just isn’t working rather than clinging onto something for the sake of image, ego, saving face or “being right”.

IMG_1876

Do you have any ways of sustaining your motivation with your goals? I’d love you to comment! Bright blessings for all you are hoping and planning for. ♥

2 thoughts on “Keeping the new year energy going all through the year

  1. Brilliant ideas! I’m so bad at completing projects too, which I think is primarily thanks to a fear of change. This year I’m trying to get more organised by creating a list of things that I want to do every week, printing it out each week and ticking them off. I’m happy with that so far, but if it starts to feel too constricting I’ll rethink my plan! I’m also going to work on finding a balance between allowing myself to do what I feel like doing, and forcing myself to get to work on a project or task that I know will be satisfying and enjoyable once I actually get going with it.

  2. Thanks! Yes it’s a difficult balance and I too sometimes struggle with knowing what is realistic, where I need to cut myself some slack and where I need to give myself a kick up the butt! I am a firm believer in the power of the list; it’s good to have tangible evidence of your progress. Great that you’ve got a flexible perspective that’s open to review and rethink your plans – especially as I find that what’s realistic can vary depending on what else is going on in my life at different times. Good luck! ♥

Leave a Reply

