New home blessing

Image

Image

On the day that we moved, my husband performed a little space clearing and energy cleansing on our new home, moving anti-clockwise around each room with a sage smudge stick and string of bells. As he did so he sprinkled water collected from a spring near Glastonbury Tor and set intention for any negativity held in the house to be left in the past so that it would be a wonderful home where we would be happy.

I wanted the blessing to take place after the new moon and after enough of the many boxes were unpacked that the house felt at least slightly like home. As with most things in my life, I got around to doing my little ceremony a bit later than planned. However, this meant that I sat down in a totally unpacked living room, able to feel calm, centred and not distracted by “oh this could go here” or ” once this box is unpacked I could do such-and-such”. (I’m quite easily distracted!)

I lit our oil burner with 3 oils; one that represented each of us and qualities that I hope each of us will bring to our home. With the oil burner, for me the oils represent Eartth and the scents air, the candle of course represents fire and the water is even more self-explanatory!

I sat contentedly in front of the burner, moon out the window behind me, and took some deep breaths. I eased into my feelings enjoyment already at living in this house, into my gratitude for the lovely house, into my hopes for our lives whilst we are here.I visualised the life we’ve talked about living whilst living here. I pictured each room of the house (including the garden) and brought to mind an image of us using that room happily. I felt the warm, smiley feeling through my body and sent that out through my fingertips and through the house. I opened my eyes and looked over at our shelf of books that we hope will inform our dreams of living more sustainably, creatively and spiritually. I visualised all the beautiful ideas and wise words in them flying off their pages and through the house. (Is that crazy?! Well nevermind!)  I remembered a motto that is written on a little china heart that my mum gave us and found myself repeating it and sending the energy created in that repetition through my body and through our new home:

Image

Leave a Reply

