half-moon homemaking

Last half moon I shared how, as the moon balances on the knife-edge of equal light and dark, it’s sometimes the shadow side of balance – stagnation – that seems to rule my day.

first quarter

As someone who has always tended to shy away from conflict, it comes quite naturally to me to try to work with what I’m faced with rather than against it. Last half-moon I talked about how I apply this to myself, for example: trying to schedule an easier, slower-paced day than usual; taking some moments to pause and reflect. I also try to connect to this energy through how I manage my home. I use this roughly-fortnightly point as a prompt to do tasks I like to do every couple of weeks, such as washing the kitchen floor or vacuuming upstairs – this frequency would probably have my houseproud neighbour’s jaw drop (sshhh…sometimes these tasks get delayed a little beyond that!)

I also use it as a prompt to take a look around the house and reflect on our daily life here: does the layout of the furniture still work for how we use the rooms? Are there adjustments I need to make based on my toddler’s growth and development (eg.now he can reach this table, and is very curious about about that glass-framed picture!). Can I simplify day-to-day tasks, perhaps by how/where we store the things needed to do them? Am I not doing the things I’d like to do more of because the things needed to do them are not easily accessible?

For more inspiration about organising and simplifying you home and your life – and prioritising what you and your family really love and value – I’d highly recommend a book I was bought for my birthday; “Organised Simplicity” by Tsh Oxenreider. She also has a lovely blog that you can check out here. Other similar sources of inspiration for me are MamaUK’s blog, and Amanda Blake Soule’s books and Soule Mama blog.

Happy half-moon   ♥

photo courtesy of domaz dk, sxc

2 thoughts on “half-moon homemaking

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a
    comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Bless you!

  2. Aw, sorry to hear about the annoyance! That’s interesting because it’s not shown up that you or anyone else have previously commented on this post. If you go to the bottom of one of the emails you’ve had, there should be some text that says “want less email? manage subscriptions” (or similar). Click here and you should be able to unfollow. ♥

Leave a Reply

